How to be still

I have found that I have a personality built for homeschooling. I am very determined. I love to read and research what approaches are best for our children. I get a high from spreading all of my materials over our bed and planning our days and weeks until 1 in the morning. I really do love it! It has been an incredible blessing for our family (so far!). We are at the very beginning of our journey and so I find it important to constantly stop and evaluate where we are and where we want to be.

A quality that I have found lacking in myself is the ability to sit still and just be. There are moments when my children “reappear” before me and I truly see them for the beautiful, amazing divine beings that they are… I feel a sense of awe and gratitude that I have the privilege to be their mother and teach them….Then I see the scattered pencils on the floor (or in last week’s case, a box full of shredded packing peanuts!). I start to panic, and the mess, the chores, the errands, the bills all seem to take precedence over my most important job.

How does one learn to sit still and …. just be? Be in the moment. Be grateful. Be one with God?

I sometimes try to trust more in my insane ability to fit more “to-do’s” in one day than is really healthy or humanly possible. I know that what I really need to do is put God first and let the other things in my life fall into place.

I love the scripture, “Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10). This is where I want to be.

IMG_1674

Leave a comment